Skip Navigation

State Authorization


Waldorf University (Waldorf) is a residential university located in Iowa and registered by the Iowa College Student Aid Commission to operate within the State of Iowa for the purpose of offering postsecondary educational programs The Commission approved Waldorf's renewal registration on March 17, 2017 for a period of two years that ends on March 19, 2019.

State of Iowa Approval 

In addition to the residential programs offered on campus, Waldorf also offers online degree programs. In compliance with federal and state regulations that govern the offering of online programs, Waldorf seeks authorization, as applicable, in all U.S. states and territories. Waldorf continuously monitors regulations in states and territories in which it offers programs and courses.
Additionally, some states require special disclosure. Information about Waldorf’s authorization status and state specific disclosures are provided below. It is recommended that prospective students review regulatory information and professional licensing requirements in your state of residence.  

For specific information regarding state authorization contact:

Alexis Banks, MBA
Director for State Authorization & Licensure


​*Updated 6/20/2018


NC-SARA LogoWaldorf University has been approved by the Iowa College Student Aid Commission to participate in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA). NC-SARA is a voluntary, regional approach to state oversight of postsecondary distance education.

As a member of NC-SARA, Waldorf only needs home state authorization to offer distance education to students residing in any other SARA member state. A list of NC-SARA states can be viewed at the following link: NC-SARA map.


Waldorf was initially approved by the Alabama Commission on Higher Education on September 4, 2013.
ACHE Certificate of Approval

Waldorf is also licensed by the State of Alabama, Community College System, formerly the Department of Post-Secondary Education pursuant to the Alabama Private School License Law, Code of Alabama, Title 16-46-1 through 10 (Certificate number 14-1512-I). Waldorf was initially licensed on June 26, 2014.
Alabama ACCS License  


The Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board (AHECB) initially granted certification to Waldorf to offer the following degree programs by distance technology on October 30, 2015:

  1. Bachelor of Applied Science in Fire Science Administration
  2. Bachelor of Applied Science in Occupational Safety
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Health Care Management
  4. Bachelor of Arts in Psychology
  5. Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
  6. Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice
  7. Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice Administration
  8. Bachelor of Science in Fire Science Administration
  9. Bachelor of Science in Organizational Leadership
AHECB certified the following programs on January 29, 2016 and this program certification expires on December 31, 2019:
  1. Associate in Arts in Emergency Management
  2. Bachelor of Applied Science in Emergency Management
  3. Bachelor of Arts in Occupational Safety

Waldorf only submitted programs for certification in which Arkansas residents were enrolled. As a SARA institution, Waldorf no longer has to submit programs for certification unless the programs lead to licensure. Waldorf notified Arkansas of its SARA status on June 3, 2016. Waldorf will maintain its certification through the expiration on December 31, 2019.
Arkansas Approval Letter

Arkansas State Refund Policy
The Arkansas State Refund Policy applies when students who are residents of Arkansas withdraw, drop, or are administratively dropped from a course or the institution.

Tuition Due Student:
Proportion of Total Course, Program, or Term Completed as of Tuition Refund Date of Withdrawal or Termination

Tuition Refund
Less than 25% Prorated
25% up to but not including 50% 50% Refund
50% up to but not including 75% 25% Refund
75% or more No Refund

Non-SARA States

Waldorf is registered with the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
State of California Registration PDF Icon
California Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)
The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.
Additional information regarding the STRF is located in the university catalog


Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) has no regulations, policies, or laws that restrict US institutions providing distance education to citizens of FSM.
Federated States of Micronesia Letter PDF Icon

Republic of the Marshall Islands

There are no regulations or rules in the Republic of the Marshall Islands regarding the authorization of distance education programs.
Marshall Islands Letter

Waldorf sent a regulatory compliance inquiry to the following territories and did not receive a response. 

  • American Samoa
  • Commonwealth of Northern Marianas Islands
  • Guam
  • Republic of Palau