Skip To Content

Salveson Prizes

Each year, current Waldorf University students can submit their poems and prose to the The Salveson Prizes in Poetry and Prose.

Named after the founder of Waldorf University, C.S. Salveson, the Salveson Prizes in Poetry and Prose honor outstanding poems and exceptional pieces of prose with a monetary award and publication in Crusader: A Journal of Engaged Writing. All contest decisions are made by outside judges, who are esteemed writers and teachers.

2009-’10 Salveson Prize in Prose

Winner, Lauren Trembath for her essay “Disarmament: My Soldier, Iraq, and Contract Marriage”
Honorable Mention, Elyse Erickson for her story “Alabaster’s Masters”
Honorable Mention, Josh Otterman for his essay “Gravediggers”
Judge, Jon Rovner, Morehead State University, Professor of English

2009-’10 Salveson Prize in Poetry

Winner, Kara Searcy for her poem “Growing Up”
Honorable Mention, Katie Mullaly for her poem “Gloria”
Judge, Hannah Fries, Poetry Editor, Orion Magazine